City Council to begin meeting on minimum wage


No Comments (Leave Comment)

min wageThe City Council has formed a special committee to consider increasing the minimum wage in Seattle. It’s called the Select Committee on Minimum Wage and Income Inequality, and it will begin meeting next week.

The first meeting will be on Friday, March 21 in the City Council Chambers at 9:30 a.m.; the full meeting schedule is copied below. In addition, the Council will hold lunchtime discussions with different groups to hear their position on raising the minimum wage in Seattle, beginning on Tuesday March 18.

The committee webpage has additional information; video of the March 5 public hearing at Town Hall is available here.

Select Committee on Minimum Wage and Income Inequality meeting schedule:

Fri., March 21, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Wednesday, April 9, 12:00 – 1:30 pm
Council Chambers

Saturday, April 12, 10 a.m.

Northgate Community Center, 10510 5th Avenue NE

Tues., April 29, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Tues., May 13, 6:00 p.m.
TBD Rainier Beach High School, 8815 Seward Park Avenue South

Thurs., May 29, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Fri., June 6, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Fri., June 13, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Fri., June 20, 9:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers

Leave a comment